Skip to main content
Non-Oil GDP Share: 55% 2025 real GDP |Saudi Unemployment: 7.2% Q4 2025 |PIF AUM: $1.21T 2025 actual |FDI Share of GDP: 2.8% Q1 2026 |Female Participation: 33.9% Q1 2026 |Credit Rating: Aa3/A+/A+ Moody's/Fitch/S&P |GDP Growth: 4.5% 2025 actual |Umrah Pilgrims: 18M+ 2025 foreign |Non-Oil GDP Share: 55% 2025 real GDP |Saudi Unemployment: 7.2% Q4 2025 |PIF AUM: $1.21T 2025 actual |FDI Share of GDP: 2.8% Q1 2026 |Female Participation: 33.9% Q1 2026 |Credit Rating: Aa3/A+/A+ Moody's/Fitch/S&P |GDP Growth: 4.5% 2025 actual |Umrah Pilgrims: 18M+ 2025 foreign |
Home Analysis & Editorial The $55bn EA Acquisition Closed. Saudi Gaming Has Moved From Strategy to Ownership
Layer 2 market

The $55bn EA Acquisition Closed. Saudi Gaming Has Moved From Strategy to Ownership

PIF, Silver Lake and Affinity have completed the largest private-equity buyout on record. PIF is the reported 93.4% owner, but the debt and Saudi localisation case now need operating proof.

Donovan Vanderbilt · · 9 min read
The $55bn EA Acquisition Closed. Saudi Gaming Has Moved From Strategy to Ownership — Analysis — Saudi Vision 2030

Last verified: 1 September 2026.

Electronic Arts is no longer a listed company. On 4 August, the publisher of EA Sports FC, Battlefield, Apex Legends, The Sims and Madden closed its acquisition by the Public Investment Fund, Silver Lake and Affinity Partners. Shareholders received $210 in cash per share, trading ceased and Nasdaq began the delisting process. [S1] [S2]

The evidentiary status has therefore changed. This is no longer a $55 billion strategic intention. It is completed control of a company that recorded $7.53 billion of GAAP revenue and $887 million of net income in the year to March 2026. [S3]

PIF is the dominant owner. A Brazilian competition filing, subsequently reported publicly, placed its post-transaction share at 93.4 per cent, with Silver Lake at 5.5 per cent and Affinity at 1.1 per cent. The US closing filing confirms consortium ownership but does not publish that percentage split or each investor’s final cash contribution. The 93.4 per cent should therefore be described as the reported ownership structure, not a number independently restated in EA’s closing release. [S4]

The acquisition gives Saudi capital control of one of the world’s largest games publishers. It does not yet prove that EA will create studios, intellectual property, skilled employment or export revenue in Saudi Arabia. Ownership and localisation are separate delivery chains.

Transaction itemVerified positionImportant qualification
Enterprise valueApproximately $55bnIncludes debt and other enterprise-value components; not all PIF cash
Price to public shareholders$210 per sharePIF rolled its existing shares rather than cashing them out
Consortium equity commitmentApproximately $36.4bnIndividual investor commitments not disclosed in EA’s public proxy
Debt commitment$20bn$18bn was expected to be funded at closing; final funded balance not in the closing release
PIF rollover24,807,932 shares, valued at about $5.21bnExisting investment converted into holding-company equity
Reported post-close ownershipPIF 93.4%; Silver Lake 5.5%; Affinity 1.1%Split came through competition disclosure/reporting, not the US closing announcement
Saudi operating commitmentsNone identified in the closing releaseNo published studio, jobs, procurement or localisation schedule

The $55bn headline is enterprise value, not PIF’s cheque

EA announced the transaction in September 2025 as an all-cash acquisition with an enterprise value of approximately $55 billion. Its proxy statement showed a financing package of approximately $36.4 billion of consortium equity and a $20 billion debt commitment. The announcement said $18 billion of the debt was expected to be funded at closing. [S5] [S6]

Those amounts should not be added mechanically to infer a $56.4 billion purchase price. Financing also covers existing debt repayment, transaction fees, equity awards and working-capital or general corporate needs. Enterprise value and funding uses are different ledgers.

PIF already owned 24.8 million EA shares, about 9.9 per cent when the merger was agreed. At $210 per share, that holding was valued at $5.21 billion and rolled into the acquisition structure. The rollover is economic equity, but it did not require PIF to buy those same shares again in cash at closing. [S2]

This is why attributing the full $55 billion to PIF would be wrong. Consortium debt financed part of the transaction; minority partners supplied equity; PIF contributed an existing stake; and enterprise value is not the same as new sovereign cash deployed.

PIF has control; the precise capital account remains partly private

At a reported 93.4 per cent, PIF has overwhelming economic and voting control at the holding-company level. Silver Lake brings technology and private-equity expertise; Affinity is a small co-investor. Their presence does not change who carries most of the equity exposure.

The exact PIF capital contribution cannot be derived by multiplying 93.4 per cent by the $55 billion enterprise value. Ownership percentages apply to equity, while enterprise value includes debt. They may also reflect the rolled stake, different instruments and transaction-specific allocation.

A rough multiplication of 93.4 per cent by the $36.4 billion equity commitment would produce about $34.0 billion, but that is an estimate, not a disclosed PIF cheque. The consortium’s final capital accounts, any preferred terms and the final debt-funded amount have not been published in the closing materials reviewed here.

The deal’s governance is similarly clear at the top and opaque in detail. EA became a wholly owned subsidiary of the consortium parent. Andrew Wilson remained chairman and chief executive in the closing announcement. A post-close board roster, reserved matters, minority consent rights and PIF–Silver Lake governance agreement were not disclosed. [S1]

Debt converts a strategic asset into an operating cash test

The $20 billion commitment contained term loans, bridge facilities that could be replaced with senior notes, and a revolving facility. The facilities could fund the merger, refinance existing obligations, pay costs and support general corporate purposes. [S6]

The closing release does not state the final amount drawn, interest rate, maturity ladder or covenant package. This is now the central financial hold. EA’s listed-company disclosures will also diminish after deregistration, making debt reporting dependent on private lender documents, bond disclosures if notes are issued, or voluntary company reporting.

Illustrative interest arithmetic shows the sensitivity without pretending to know the rate:

Illustrative funded debtIllustrative cash rateAnnual cash interest before amortisation
$18bn5%$0.90bn
$18bn6%$1.08bn
$18bn7%$1.26bn

These are scenarios, not forecasts. They compare with EA’s fiscal-2026 GAAP net income of $887 million and non-GAAP operating income of $2.44 billion. Interest is paid from cash flow, not accounting net income, and the capital structure may include tax effects, hedges, amortisation and refinancing. But the scale demonstrates why recurring bookings, margin and cash conversion now matter more than transaction prestige. [S3]

EA is not Savvy Games Group

PIF already owns a dedicated national games champion: Savvy Games Group. Savvy owns Scopely, acquired for $4.9 billion, and ESL FACEIT Group. PIF describes Savvy as the vehicle intended to build a Saudi ecosystem and become a global games-and-esports leader. [S7]

EA was acquired directly through a separate consortium structure. No public document reviewed for this article places EA under Savvy or announces a merger between them. Treating the assets as one operating group would therefore be premature.

The distinction may be deliberate. Direct PIF ownership can preserve EA’s autonomy, isolate acquisition debt and give Silver Lake defined participation. Savvy can continue operating Scopely and ESL FACEIT while seeking commercial cooperation with EA. Potential links include mobile publishing, esports production, sports rights, user acquisition and Saudi talent programmes.

Potential synergy is not delivered synergy. Related-party contracts, IP licences, transfer pricing and management authority would need governance that protects each company and makes the economic benefit visible.

The portfolio has breadth across the games value chain

The combined PIF-controlled exposure is formidable even without a formal corporate integration:

  • EA: console, PC and live-service publishing; major sports and entertainment IP;
  • Scopely: mobile-first development and publishing, including Monopoly GO!;
  • ESL FACEIT Group: esports tournaments, leagues and competitive platforms;
  • Savvy: the national-champion and portfolio-management layer; and
  • Saudi event infrastructure: a domestic market for competitions, experiences and tourism.

EA adds premium global publishing and sports franchises to a portfolio previously strongest in mobile games and esports. It also increases concentration risk. A significant share of value depends on sustaining franchises, live-service engagement, sports licences and creative talent under a more leveraged capital structure.

The Saudi localisation ledger is still empty

Saudi Arabia’s National Gaming and Esports Strategy targets more than SAR50 billion of economic contribution, 39,000 jobs and 250 games companies by 2030. [S8]

The EA closing announcement links gaming to PIF’s diversification mandate but gives no Saudi operating commitments. It does not announce a Riyadh studio, a number of Saudi developers, a local publishing unit, procurement targets, IP transfer, Arabic localisation centre, university programme or Saudi-based production slate.

That absence does not mean none will follow. It means the acquisition currently satisfies the ownership objective more clearly than the domestic capability objective.

The next scorecard should separate four layers:

  1. global financial return from EA;
  2. commercial collaboration with other PIF gaming assets;
  3. Saudi-located employment, development and supplier spend; and
  4. sector-wide spillovers to independent Saudi studios.

Counting all EA revenue or employment as Saudi gaming impact would be wrong. The company remains headquartered in Redwood City and operates globally.

The strongest case for the acquisition

The strongest case is that PIF has bought a scarce, cash-generative platform with hundreds of millions of users and globally recognised IP. Taking EA private removes quarterly market pressure and can support multi-year investment in technology, new franchises and distribution. Silver Lake adds operational expertise, while PIF provides patient equity and a broad sports-and-entertainment network.

Strategically, EA completes a value-chain map that would be difficult to assemble organically before 2030. Saudi Arabia can learn from production systems, live operations, licensing, data and creative management already working at global scale.

The countercase: control abroad is not an ecosystem at home

The countercase begins with price and leverage. The consortium paid a 25 per cent premium to EA’s unaffected share price and introduced a large debt package. The new owners need enough growth and cash generation to service that structure without weakening creative investment.

Private ownership also reduces public visibility. EA’s common stock has ceased trading and the company intends to suspend periodic SEC reporting after deregistration. Less disclosure makes it harder to test whether AI investment raises output, whether debt constrains studios and whether promised long-term capital actually reaches development.

Most importantly for Vision 2030, a profitable foreign asset can generate investment return without moving one skilled job or one line of code to Saudi Arabia. That would still be a legitimate sovereign investment outcome. It would not, on its own, deliver the national games strategy.

What to watch after closing

The acquisition should now be judged by operating evidence:

  • final debt funded, interest cost, maturities and refinancing;
  • a published post-close board and governance structure;
  • player bookings, cash conversion and franchise release quality;
  • investment in new intellectual property rather than reliance on annual franchises;
  • staff retention and studio openings or closures;
  • formal links with Savvy, Scopely and ESL FACEIT;
  • Saudi studios, jobs, training, supplier spending and locally owned IP; and
  • voluntary reporting after SEC deregistration.

Closing is decisive: Saudi gaming has moved from minority portfolio exposure to ownership and control. The next question is no longer whether PIF can buy scale. It is whether it can convert scale into durable financial return and Saudi production capability at the same time.

Sources

  1. [S1] Electronic Arts, “EA Announces Completion of Acquisition by PIF, Silver Lake, and Affinity Partners,” 4 August 2026. https://www.ea.com/ea-studios/motive/news/ea-announces-completion-of-acquisition
  2. [S2] US Securities and Exchange Commission, PIF Schedule 13D amendment reporting completion, rollover and delisting, 4 August 2026. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/712515/000114036126031415/xslSCHEDULE_13D_X02/primary_doc.xml
  3. [S3] Electronic Arts, Form 10-K/A for the year ended 31 March 2026, filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/712515/000130817926000382/ea2026-10ka.htm
  4. [S4] PC Gamer, reporting the ownership split disclosed through a Brazilian competition filing, 2 December 2025. https://www.pcgamer.com/gaming-industry/it-turns-out-saudi-arabia-will-own-93-4-percent-of-ea-if-the-buyout-goes-through-which-is-effectively-all-of-it/
  5. [S5] Electronic Arts, transaction announcement filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission, 29 September 2025. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/712515/000114036125036416/ef20056167_defa14a.htm
  6. [S6] Electronic Arts, definitive proxy statement for the acquisition, filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/712515/000114036125042872/ny20056157x2_defm14a.htm
  7. [S7] Public Investment Fund, Savvy Games Group portfolio profile. https://www.pif.gov.sa/en/our-investments/our-portfolio/savvy-games-group/
  8. [S8] Saudi Vision 2030, National Gaming and Esports Strategy facts and figures. https://www.vision2030.gov.sa/media/svtpwvei/nges_strategy_en.pdf