Skip to main content
Non-Oil GDP Share: 55% 2025 real GDP |Saudi Unemployment: 7.2% Q4 2025 |PIF AUM: $1.21T 2025 actual |FDI Share of GDP: 2.8% Q1 2026 |Female Participation: 33.9% Q1 2026 |Credit Rating: Aa3/A+/A+ Moody's/Fitch/S&P |GDP Growth: 4.5% 2025 actual |Umrah Pilgrims: 18M+ 2025 foreign |Non-Oil GDP Share: 55% 2025 real GDP |Saudi Unemployment: 7.2% Q4 2025 |PIF AUM: $1.21T 2025 actual |FDI Share of GDP: 2.8% Q1 2026 |Female Participation: 33.9% Q1 2026 |Credit Rating: Aa3/A+/A+ Moody's/Fitch/S&P |GDP Growth: 4.5% 2025 actual |Umrah Pilgrims: 18M+ 2025 foreign |
Home Analysis & Editorial Diriyah Raised SAR2 Billion From a Bank — But Has Not Disclosed Project-Finance Terms
Layer 2 data

Diriyah Raised SAR2 Billion From a Bank — But Has Not Disclosed Project-Finance Terms

Arab National Bank is funding branded residences in Diriyah and Wadi Safar. The facility is real third-party debt, while its security, recourse and repayment structure remain private.

Donovan Vanderbilt · · 8 min read
Diriyah Raised SAR2 Billion From a Bank — But Has Not Disclosed Project-Finance Terms — Analysis — Saudi Vision 2030

Last verified: 1 September 2026. Diriyah Company secured a SAR2 billion financing agreement from Arab National Bank on 17 August 2026 to fund branded residences in Diriyah and Wadi Safar. It is the first financial transaction between the bank and the PIF-owned developer, and it moves a slice of the project’s capital requirement beyond direct sovereign-owner funding. [S1]

It does not yet qualify, on the published evidence, as non-recourse project finance. The announcement does not disclose the borrower beyond Diriyah Company, the financed assets, tenor, draw conditions, margin, collateral, guarantees, repayment waterfall, presale covenant or bank syndication. Calling the facility “secured” means obtained; it does not establish that security interests were granted.

Facility fieldPublic position at 31 August 2026Classification
LenderArab National BankDocumented
AmountSAR2bn; stated as $533mDocumented
UseDevelopment of “numerous” branded residences in Diriyah and Wadi SafarDocumented, not asset-allocated
RelationshipFirst financial deal between lender and developerDocumented
Borrower/obligor structureDiriyah Company named; special-purpose borrowers not disclosedUnknown
Security and guaranteesNot disclosedUnknown
Recourse to Diriyah Company or PIFNot disclosedUnknown
Tenor, margin and amortisationNot disclosedUnknown
Presales or contracted cash flowsNo linked values disclosedUnknown
Project-finance classificationNot used by the partiesUnproved

The correct headline is therefore external bank financing committed for a defined asset class, not “private capital has fully underwritten Diriyah housing”.

Why commercial-bank money is a meaningful signal

Equity from an owner absorbs first loss and can be deployed for strategic reasons. A bank expects repayment, prices credit risk and typically imposes conditions. Even when the borrower is state-owned, a first facility requires credit approval, legal documentation and a view on sources of repayment.

Diriyah describes the agreement as evidence of institutional confidence. Arab National Bank says it reflects its role in financing national projects. Both statements are advocacy, but the signed SAR2-billion commitment is more substantive than another internal capital-allocation announcement. [S1]

The dollar conversion is consistent with Saudi Arabia’s 3.75-riyal peg: SAR2 billion divided by 3.75 equals $533.3 million. The release rounds that to $533 million.

Scale needs perspective. Diriyah puts the wider giga-project value at SAR236 billion and says more than SAR110 billion of major contracts have been awarded. The ANB facility equals approximately 0.85 per cent of the stated project value and 1.82 per cent of announced major contract awards. [S1] It is material funding for a residential sub-portfolio, not transformation of the whole project’s financing model.

The financed asset pool is broad but unallocated

Diriyah says the facility will support “numerous branded residences” across two master plans: 14 square kilometres at Diriyah and 62 square kilometres at Wadi Safar. Its branded-residence portfolio exceeds 300 units and sits inside a stated long-term plan for 18,000 homes and 100,000 residents. [S1]

The public brand list includes Aman, Armani, Baccarat, Corinthia, Raffles, Ritz-Carlton and Chedi. The Chedi component alone comprises 20 villas around a Greg Norman-designed golf course; a 2025 project update also identified 34 Aman villas and 15 Armani residences. [S2] [S3]

Those announcements establish product and inventory, not collateral. The ANB release does not say whether the facility finances those specific schemes, shared infrastructure, construction advances or developer-wide residential expenditure. It also does not report the number or value of binding sales contracts.

That omission prevents a loan-to-cost or loan-to-value calculation. It also prevents an average financing-per-home metric: dividing SAR2 billion by “300-plus” would assume every branded residence sits in the borrowing base and ignore infrastructure and timing.

Corporate lending and project finance are different claims

True non-recourse or limited-recourse project finance is repaid primarily from a ring-fenced project’s cash flows, with lender rights over project assets and contracts. Corporate lending relies more broadly on the borrower’s balance sheet. Between those poles are secured development facilities, revolving lines and hybrid structures supported by sponsor guarantees or completion undertakings.

The Diriyah announcement does not locate this deal on that spectrum. There is no special-purpose vehicle, asset schedule, presale threshold, debt-service reserve, completion guarantee or waterfall in the public record. The facility may contain some or all of them; absence from a press release is not evidence of absence from the contract.

The distinction matters because the validation signal changes. A non-recourse lender accepting residential sales risk says more about project cash flows. A corporate facility to a strongly backed PIF company may say more about sponsor credit and relationship banking. Both supply external debt, but they do not transfer the same risk.

The strongest interpretation at the cut-off is that ANB has accepted exposure to Diriyah Company for a ring-fenced use of proceeds. Anything more is inference.

This is part of a broader move toward bankable giga-project assets

External financing of PIF-linked destinations is increasing. In October 2025, Red Sea Global secured a SAR6.5-billion AMAALA credit facility led by Riyad Bank with Saudi Investment Bank and Bank AlBilad. That disclosure identified arrangers, conventional and Islamic tranches, a green-finance framework and named legal advisers—though it also withheld pricing and detailed security. [S4]

The comparison shows what better disclosure can look like. The ANB–Diriyah release identifies one bank and use of proceeds but no financing framework or advisers. It may be a bilateral facility whose simplicity is commercially valuable, yet investors cannot assess maturity matching or risk allocation.

Sector-wide, Fitch was reported in February 2026 as estimating bank financing to giga-projects at only 5–7 per cent of average Saudi banking-sector loans at end-2025, while expecting borrowing to increase as projects approach operations and cash flows can support debt. [S5] Diriyah’s residence facility fits that direction: monetisable assets can create more conventional repayment sources than early master-planning expenditure.

It also creates concentration and liquidity questions. A bank committing long-duration capital to development must fund construction drawdowns before unit completions. Saudi banks already face strong corporate and mortgage credit demand. The facility’s tenor, draw profile and any take-out through buyer mortgages are therefore commercially significant.

Repayment evidence must come from homes, not brands

Luxury hotel affiliations can support pricing and buyer confidence, but a brand name is not cash flow. The repayment ledger should track reservation deposits, binding sales, cancellation terms, construction progress, unit handovers, collections and unsold inventory by residence scheme.

Diriyah has described a strong response to residences already offered and launched sales for named schemes, but has not published contracted sales value, cash collected or price per square metre in the financing announcement. [S2] That makes independent debt-service analysis impossible.

A clean financing tracker would disclose:

  • legal borrower and guarantors;
  • facility type, tenor, margin and amortisation;
  • committed amount versus drawn balance;
  • asset pool, approved cost and equity contribution;
  • security, recourse and completion support;
  • presales, collections and release-price tests; and
  • construction, handover and repayment milestones.

No confidential customer names are needed. Aggregated values would be enough to distinguish development credit from headline capital.

Countercase: disclosure cannot be the same as underwriting

Banks do not publish complete loan agreements, and a bilateral facility can be commercially sound without revealing margins or collateral. ANB’s due diligence is also not invalidated because Diriyah is PIF-owned; sponsor strength is a legitimate part of credit analysis.

Nor does limited external visibility mean the financing lacks project features. Security documents, cash controls and presale covenants may exist privately. The article’s conclusion is about what can be established publicly, not about confidential terms.

The counter-risk is to overstate “private-sector validation”. ANB is risking bank capital, but depositors, shareholders, regulators and the broader Saudi financial system sit behind that capital. A loan is not the same as third-party equity accepting open-ended development risk.

What would falsify this assessment

Publication of financing documents showing a ring-fenced borrower, limited recourse and repayment primarily from identified residential cash flows would justify calling the facility project finance. A PIF guarantee or broad Diriyah Company recourse would move classification toward sponsor-supported corporate credit.

The SAR2-billion scale should be updated for subsequent syndication, accordion commitments, cancellations or drawings. “Secured financing” would need separate wording if collateral details emerge.

The agreement matters because an external bank has committed a measurable amount to a monetisable Diriyah asset class. Its quality will be proved by disciplined drawdown, delivered residences, collected sales and repayment—not by the prestige of the brands or the existence of a PIF shareholder.

Sources

  1. [S1] Diriyah Company, “Diriyah Company Signs $533 Million (SAR 2 Billion) Financing Agreement with Arab National Bank,” 18 August 2026. https://www.diriyahcompany.sa/en/news/diriyah-company-signs-533-million-dollar-financing-agreement-with-arab-national-bank-to-fund-branded-residential-developments-in-diriyah-and-wadi-safar
  2. [S2] Diriyah Company, “Diriyah Company Announces the Launch of Chedi Residences Wadi Safar,” 3 September 2025. https://www.diriyahcompany.sa/en/news/diriyah-company-announces-the-launch-of-chedi-residences-wadi-safar-delivering-luxury-living
  3. [S3] Diriyah Company, “High Profile Projects Announced with SAR 18.75 billion in Contract Awards in First Half of 2025,” 2025. https://www.diriyahcompany.sa/en/news/high-profile-projects-announced-with-sar-18.75-billion-in-contract-awards-in-first-half-of-2025-drive-diriyah%25E2%2580%2599s-global-rise
  4. [S4] Red Sea Global, “Red Sea Global secures SAR 6.5 billion funding for AMAALA,” 28 October 2025. https://www.redseaglobal.com/en/media-center/news/red-sea-global-secures-sar-6-5-billion-funding-for-amaala/
  5. [S5] Fitch Ratings analysis reproduced in QNB Financial Services, Daily Market Report, 8 February 2026. https://www.qnbfs.com/sites/qnb/qnbfs/document/ar/arDMR08February2026